“Love isn’t enough.”

“No, but it is the rock on which all else stands.”

-Nora Roberts, Blood Brothers, page 160

I’m a huge sucker for the supernatural – vampires, witches, demons and the like – and this series fits perfectly into that category. If you’re looking for something that will make you wonder what is going to happen next that you can’t stop turning to the next page, this series is for you. This trilogy is an absolute favorite that I enjoy reading at least once a year. Even though I already know the outcome of each book, it makes for a nice break in-between new reads and still gives me chills when something I have forgotten over time comes up, bringing excitement back as if it was the first time I’ve read it.

There are so many different books that I have read throughout my life that it makes it difficult to decide where to start so I figured I might as well start with one of my favorite series, the Sign of Seven Trilogy, by Nora Roberts. In this series, you will read Caleb’s story in Blood Brothers, Fox’s story in The Hollow, and Gage’s story in The Pagan Stone.

Now, most people will say that their favorite writer is someone who is no longer around, such as Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, or William Shakespeare, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. To me, Nora Roberts has a way with words that makes it so she sucks you right into the story from the first page and this is why she is my absolute favorite writer. Granted, there are quite a few other authors that do this as well that I have read and enjoyed, but her books, for me, tops them all. The detail that she puts into her work makes it easy to envision the characters, their surroundings, and the events happening within the storyline. It really is like a movie that plays inside your mind, making the book more enjoyable read. And the Sign of Seven series is just one great example.

I really enjoyed Caleb’s character as he seemed to be a family man who took care of the town. Like his father, he believed in supporting the small business which at the end of things, also helped the town of Hawkins Hollow survive. It was his destiny as he was a descendant of the founder. He also seemed to be the unofficial leader of the group. He keeps everyone under control in the chaos of what was happening around them and I like that type of strong sense of character.

Quinn Black is a character that I can relate well to. She goes for what she wants, loves to write, and tries to stay far away from junk food even though it is a love that won’t go away. She was the first to arrive in The Hollow to find out more about the town she had heard so much about and had plans of writing a book on. Like how Caleb was the leader of the six of them, Quinn seemed to be the mother hen which made me relate to her even more as I have a tendency to look out for others as well. I was excited for Quinn and Cal to get together romantically as their personalities meshed so well together.

About Blood Brothers

The story begins with the first installment, Blood Brothers, in 1692 Maryland, the time of the witch trials. The first character that you meet within the book, Giles Dent, readies for the evil that comes for him, however, it’s not the accusation of being a witch (which he is of course), and those coming for him, that he preps for, but that in which they call Lazarus Twisse. The most heinous creature that Giles, and those that come after him, have ever come across.

“It crawled along the air that hung heavy as wet wool over the glade. Through the snakes of fog that slid silent over the ground, its hate crept.” From the very first page, you start to feel as if you are there in those woods. It’s easy to imagine the fog creeping along the ground, feel the weight of it. You can start to see, just a sliver, of what crawls along with that fog, coming for death. Giles falls to his knees as they beat him for being the witch that he is, but he doesn’t give up easily. He pushes his power towards the evil before him and pulls Twisse into the depths of hell with him, keeping him contained. Until that fateful day almost 300 years later, when three young boys walk to that of The Pagan Stone to celebrate their 10th birthday together, releasing the evil within.

From that night on nothing would ever be the same for Caleb and his best friends, Fox and Gage. Nothing would ever be as it was before the release of the demon, Twisse, as it wreaks chaos throughout the small town of Hawkins Hollow. From the age of ten, they saw things that no child should ever have to witness – murder, rape, arson, suicide, and anything else you can possibly think of. However, those in town that were being affected by Twisse didn’t seem to realize what they were doing or what was happening around them. Caleb, Fox, and Gage, along with their immediate family members, seemed to be the only ones that weren’t caught up in the disaster. And because of this, year after year, for that one week every July, they were the only ones that were able to stop what was happening until the evil that Twisse brought onto them stopped for another year.

For years it was just the three of them and their families fighting against Twisse, but when things start to happen earlier than ever, it attracts the attention of a few others from outside the town. One of those people, in particular, is Quinn Black, a reporter who is looking at the town of Hawkins Hollow to be the star of her new book. Like the others, she can see what is happening to the town when Twisse comes to visit that the locals cannot and alongside Caleb, Fox, and Gabe, they start to fight against the evil; with a little romance between Caleb and Quinn sprouting up like the fresh Spring grass to wedge itself between the terrible happenings going on around them. Not soon after Quinn’s arrival to Hawkins Hollow comes that of Layla Darnell as well as Quinn calling in the troops with Cybil Kinski. Together, the six of them, go against a force that no normal person would ever have to imagine in their lifetime of having to fight.

A list of Nora Robert’s books can be found here – Book List – She even has a printable list that can be found here – Printable List – and a list of series/connected books can be found here – Series/Connected Book List

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

Next Post

The Hollow (The Sign of Seven Trilogy, Book Two) by Nora Roberts

Fri Jun 14 , 2019
The bonding ritual that Caleb, Fox, and Gage believed to be an innocent pack made between friends to become blood brothers has brought out a force that has come to destroy Hawkins Hollow and those that live within it. Now, as the dreaded month of July, the seventh month, comes towards them, they are plagued by death and destruction only they can see. This year is different though, a year that will give them a better fighting chance against that evil as they now have the help of Quinn, Layla, and Cybil; three women who are somehow connected to the demon, just as the men, Caleb, Fox, and Gage, are connected to the one that trapped it.